Internet Explorer 8.0 rollback to 7.0


Last week I installed Internet Explorer 8.0. This new edition of IE brings many good features, one I liked the best is web slices. I was happy with the new version and aha..this morning I wanted to work from home, tried to connect to my company network, and unfortunately we do not support IE 8.0 for remote desktop (yet!) and no FireFox too (!!!). So i had to go back to IE 7.0.
To my surprise this rollback to older version was a breeze, Microsoft provides an installer (that uninstalls) 8.0 and restores 7.0. Here is the link to KB article and download for this.

Cheers!

3 comments

  1. Robert W.

    I’ve seen more problems with it. On my Vista 64-bit computer, IE8 creates multiple instances of itself, which do not disappear but grow in number. This eventually cripples Windows.

    A friend of mine suddenly could not print and nothing would preview in his IE8.

    Back to IE7 until they get these bugs resolved!

    • V S

      so .. .how do I do that … roll back to 7.0?

      I tried to remove IE completely then install 7.0 and it told me it can’t because there’s a more recent version installed

      • Binu Thayamkery

        I used the installer provided by Microsoft to rollback. Check out the link given in the original post. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

